#21 Read books and watch the news.

25 Jul

This seems like simple advice, doesn’t it?  Theoretically, it is.  But sometimes life gets so busy that we feel like we barely have time to breathe, much less pick up a good book to read.  However, making time to do these things will exercise your brain and help you stay informed with what’s going on in the world. 

Read Books

I sacrificed 2 months of magazine reading, 1 month of Netflix watching, and $1.30 in an overdue library book fine to spend my free time reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett.  Four hundred and sixty-four pages later, I’m glad that I did.  

  • The Help:  Through this work of fiction, Stockett explores the relationship between white women and their black hired help in the 1960s in Jackson, MS.  One thing that I really like about this book is that the chapters switch between the three main characters’ perspectives so you can hear their stories in each of their voices (I’ve never liked books written in the 3rd person.  I always wonder about the author, “How do you know what this character is thinking or feeling?  You’re not in their head,”  as if the author didn’t create this character.  Books written in 1st person just feel more real somehow.  Like the character is writing the book.  Maybe it’s just me.)  Set in a time when “black women were trusted to raise white children but not to polish the household silver” (Publishers Weekly), it gave me a peek at the lives that my ancestors may have lived.  It’s easy to sit back and say, “I wish a (insert expletive) would treat me like that” when you didn’t live it.  Full of WHY DID SHE DO THAT  situations and I’m Glad She Did That moments, I highly recommend reading this book.  Rating: ♥♥♥♥ 

(Picture courtesy of Google Books)

Watch the News

CNN, MSNBC, HLN, Good Morning America, Fox News, ESPN.  Whatever your choice, watch the news.  Stay informed.  And switch it up.  Watch national and international news as well as local news.  I know a lot of people hate watching the local news because it sometimes seems almost amateurish compared to national/international news programs, but take a peek every now and then.  It often gives you news that you can use (I’m sure I stole that tag line from a local news station).  I mean, who else is going to let you know about the rise in robberies in your area of town?  Besides Nosy Rosy who lives down the street and seems to know everybody’s business, including yours, and even has the nerve to ask you about the gentleman who has been frequenting your home…oh, where was I?  Right.  The local news can keep you informed of what’s going on in your neighborhood, city, and state.  Besides, Nosy Rosy rarely checks her “facts” and will not issue a retraction after she’s already spread your business to the rest of the Homeowners Association.   (The local news sometimes has more to offer than just news.  When I lived in Baltimore, thanks to the traffic reporter on one local news program, I was able to find a new hairstylist.  Morning after morning I noticed how great her hair looked, so I emailed her and she emailed me back with the name of her salon and hairstylist!) 

I’m always in search of a good book, whether it’s fiction, nonfiction, business, biography, etc.  Is there a book that you find particularly interesting, inspiring, compelling, unbelievable, enlightening, or just purely entertaining?  What book(s) would you recommend to others?  Is there any piece of must see news that we may have missed? 

Ratings

♥♥♥♥ Loved it!      ♥♥♥ Liked it      ♥♥ Half-heartedly read it      ♥Broken-hearted because I will never get back the time wasted reading this book

6 Responses to “#21 Read books and watch the news.”

  1. Mollie Mitchell July 25, 2010 at 9:47 pm #

    Funny you should talk on this subject since I have recently started reading again. It’s so much fun! It can take you away better than Calgon. Most of all it makes you forget the garbish that set you off the day before. Keep up the good work!

  2. youmissme July 30, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    I read “The Help” this summer. It was really a great book. I saw somewhere that they were making it into a movie, so I really hope they don’t mess it up.

    I would recommend reading “What is the What” by Dave Eggers. It is based off of the life story of a Sudanese boy who was a part of a group known as The Lost Boys. It was a good read!

    • whydidshedothat July 30, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

      Yep, they are making it into a movie! I’m excited about that, but like you, I hope they don’t mess it up. Thanks for the book suggestion! I will have to check it out (literally).

  3. Kaneisha August 5, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Glad to hear that it was a great read! I was considering reading it a while back and didn’t end up doing it. Have you read Little Bee? Soooo good!

    • whydidshedothat August 5, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      You should! I hadn’t heard of Little Bee. I will definitely check it out. Thanks for the suggestion!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #21.1 Read books and watch the news. « Why Did She Do That Blog - July 30, 2010

    […] Jul Remember what I said in #21 about watching the locals news?  (https://whydidshedothat.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/21-read-books-and-watch-the-news/)  Right.  Well, if this is your local news, this does not apply to you (and I can say this […]

Leave a Reply

