#105 Don’t wear bad wigs or weave.

23 Sep

Let me start off by saying that I’ve never worn either so I don’t consider myself an expert on this subject matter, but I do know a bad weave or wig when I see it.  And by bad I don’t mean good.  I mean bad. 

Don’t let them do this to you. EVER. Again.  This is just wrong. 

We should not see where your hair and the weave meet. 

Your wig or weave should not look like it was done at the Barbie® Beauty Salon. 

Your weave should be smoothly integrated into your current hairstyle.

And ladies, please, let your hair breath so that your real hair does not end up looking like this:

Your hair will thank you. 

Are there any other rules about wigs and weave that I missed?

9 Responses to “#105 Don’t wear bad wigs or weave.”

  1. Anetra September 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    I’ve worn it and my FIRST rule of thumb. Make that two. MATCH YOUR HAIR COLOR AND TEXTURE! I have BLACK (not brown) hair. It’s extremely thick. Why do women with hair like mine get silky brown hair? Ridiculous!

    • whydidshedothat September 24, 2010 at 8:15 am #

      Thank you! How could I forget those two?! Those should have been #1 and #2 on the list.

  2. Confessions of a Confused City Girl September 26, 2010 at 3:21 am #

    Oh *SIGH* When will people learn… I really want people to give up this lacefront trend too… that would make me VERY happy!

    -Sherine
    Check out my blog! Feel free to comment!
    http://sherinethegirl.blogspot.com/

    • whydidshedothat September 30, 2010 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks for checking out my blog! You know, I don’t know enough about weaves/wigs to tell when someone is wearing a lacefront. Lol. I think I just assume certain people are wearing them.

  3. Confessions of a Confused City Girl September 26, 2010 at 3:22 am #

    Oh *SIGH* I wish people would also give up the lacefront trend… That would make me really happy!

  4. Hillerie Camille September 30, 2010 at 1:39 am #

    People were mad because they thought Gabby was photoshopped for that cover. They should have been mad about that wig, and she should too. Rule #1 your wig should not look like a hat. Brittany Spears weaves say “I’m doing my childhood friend a favor by letting her do my weave.” Why else would someone with access to the BEST salons and stylist do this to herself? Let Naomi be a warning.

    • whydidshedothat September 30, 2010 at 8:41 am #

      I agree. I was 100% mad at that wig. I think line #1 in my contract would be that I have final approval of my hair, because there is no way anyone would have put that wig on me. I don’t understand how she could look in the mirror and be ok with that.

    • youmissme September 30, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      I totally agree! Maybe the critics weren’t looking at the weave, but that’s the only thing I saw smh…

  5. That Tech Chick October 3, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    I am rolling on the floor laughing over here!!!!!

Leave a Reply

